To Bind The Tongue

I had a really big problem and it wasn’t until I saw too many “warnings” about turning it over to God, that I was able to get out of my stubborn mindset and repent of my sins. Honey, I will not pretend like I’ve never struggled with sin. There was a crack of entry I gave to the enemy every time I told a “little lie”. Well little lies turn into BIG TROUBLE with God. It was consequences of not being trusted, humiliation, isolation, and lost of relationships.

There was also an issue I had with gossip. Yes, gossip/slander is a form of lying because it’s distorting the truth with half truths or little lies based on a variety of our negative perceptions. We think our conversations, text messages, or emails are hidden, but if God wants those things revealed, then He has a way of exposing anything. Gossip tears down and it can make us come up with false assumptions based on our own insecurities. I’ve learned that every time that I engaged in it or told little lies, I received others gossiping about me or even telling lies on me. It’s called getting a dose of your own medicine. Gossip shows the pride and pharisaical hearts we have. The thing we fail to recognize is that we’re just perceiving bad behavior patterns in the person/people we’re tearing down, but we got a log in our eye and do not want to take it out. We don’t provide solutions to their problem(s) because we’re too busy exposing the critical spirit inside us.

I speak of this because there may be someone who has some issues with telling “little lies”, gossiping, and slandering others. I wouldn’t wish that type of humiliation on anyone. There’s a way to overcome any problem or bad habit you may be battling with, His name is Christ Jesus. He knows we fall short daily, but we can be healed from anything. It doesn’t matter if people don’t want to believe that you are working with Christ about the issues of your heart. What matters that you let Christ have His way as you connect with Him daily through His Word, prayer, and He will guide you. You have the choice to work on overcoming any bad habit with the strength God gives you. Until next time, pray for me and I’ll pray for you.

But no human being can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison. With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse human beings, who have been made in God’s likeness. Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this should not be.
James 3:8-10 NIV

Share Your Sentiments

