We All Need Encouragement

The internet is buzzing with the recent tragedy of Paris. When I saw the gruesome pictures, it prompted me to go into prayer. I had trouble with sleeping and began tossing and turning. I began to feel fearful and thinking about my situation.

My alarm went off and I called into the 6:30 a.m. prayer conference call. Immediately, I received confirmation about getting out of my feelings. While on the prayer line: We as Christians already know that this world is full of evil and God wants us to be watchful and prayerful. God didn’t give us a spirit of fear, but of love, power, and of a sound mind. How easy we can become distracted and a bit selfish when we focus on the wrong things.

I speak of this because there may be someone who had a moment of fear/anxiety and took their focus off the One who provides us with a peace that surpasses all understanding. It has happened to us all, even some of God’s prophets. Elijah went into a state of depression right after a victory. Just like God sent him someone to keep him encouraged during a tragic time, God has someone to speak life back into us. Until next time, pray for me and I’ll pray for you.

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.
John 14:27 NIV

Share Your Sentiments

